In 1942, Thomas P. O’Brien moved his funeral home from downtown Bristol, where it had been located since its founding in 1909, to 24 Lincoln Avenue in Forestville. At that time, wakes were held in the homes of the deceased. Mr. O’Brien foresaw a gradual shift in this practice and wanted to provide a facility that could maintain the ambiance of that traditional atmosphere, which he felt was an important part of helping people deal with their loss. The O’Brien Funeral Home has since stood as an emotional landmark for many Bristol and Forestville families.
The house at 24 Lincoln Avenue was built in 1890 as a wedding gift from Elias N. Welch to his daughter H. Drusilla Mitchell. A distinct feature of the home is the front facing East Main Street. It was designed to resemble a river showboat with its rounded stern and double deck. A vast green lawn still graces the side and front of the home. Inside, many antiques complement the intricate and beautiful woodwork. A sweeping foyer hall, cathedral ceilings and lavish wraparound porch complete this Victorian masterpiece.
We at O’Brien Funeral Home continue to operate our business in the unique environment of dignity and elegance established by our founder.